But would Costner ever take on a political role in real life? The actor revealed to USA Today that he doesn’t see a path into politics in his future. Costner said, “No, I don’t think there’s any reason for me to run, though I wish the people that did run had a bigger vision and more of a morality about how they see the country evolving. I’m disappointed.” In the past, the actor spoke out in support of political candidates he admired, no matter what party they belong to, such as Democratic candidate Pete Buttigieg and Wyoming Republican Representative Liz Cheney. Touching on Cheney losing the primary in August, Costner told the publication, “Just because you lose doesn’t mean you’re done; it doesn’t mean you’re even wrong. I was clear that (Cheney) probably wasn’t going to win her election. But I wanted to let her know, as a citizen, how much I appreciated her brave, clear-headed stance.” Cheney has gotten a lot of backlash from the Republican party for her outspoken criticism of Trump and his extremism. Costner’s support for Cheney also brought criticism on him, yet he responded by saying, “I didn’t really care how the cookie crumbles, that people that liked me now don’t like me. That’s OK.” While Costner will likely stay far away from political office, Dutton in Yellowstone doesn’t have that luxury.  In the new season, he is the newly-elected governor of Montana, which gives him the influence he needs to maintain control, while also taking him away from the ranch that he loves. The 67-year-old said of Dutton, “I know how hard it’s going to be on him. His heart is at the ranch, not trying to find middle ground with people. That’s going to be problematic. He has a lane that he operates in that is not as expansive as some would want it to be. And he won’t change.” Yellowstone Season 5 premiered on Paramount on Nov. 13 and is set to have 14 episodes total, split into two seven-episode parts.  More TV: Everything We Know So Far About ‘Survivor 44’ The Voice’s Top 16 Artist Bodie Reveals Why He Chose Blake Shelton Over Gwen Stefani As His Coach Who is Bride on ‘The Masked Singer’?