Launched back in 2009, Venmo was created with a target audience of friends and family in mind, folks who would be splitting a large dinner bill, sharing the cost of a movie outing or splitting the rent on a home. Through the mobile app, one user can quickly transfer money to another without having to worry about who has change to break a larger bill, right from a smartphone. Super convenient! But one of the biggest criticisms about Venmo (which was acquired by PayPal in 2012) is that whether sending or requesting money, users have to include a caption with each transaction. Payment amounts are secrets, but unless a user has their profile settings private, those captions can be seen by anyone using the platform. Venmo makes including a caption for each transaction super easy by offering a selection of animated stickers to choose from, or users can enter a simple emoji from their phone’s keyboard. But more often than not, users make up wild and insane reasons for their transaction captions—and that’s where the real fun comes in with using Venmo! Who got paid for “the thing we aren’t supposed to talk about” and what the heck was it? Did Sara get “another free coffee” this week, because that would be her fifth one? Who got caught “skipping out on the bill” again this month? Stalking people on a Venmo newsfeed can be just as much fun as skulking around Facebook, and my friends and I are always trying to one-up each other with our witty transaction reasons. If you are looking to step up your money-sharing creativity, then look no further than this list of funny Venmo captions!

55 Funny Venmo Captions

1. I watch Yellowstone with your Paramount account without your permission. 2. Thanks for last night. 3. Your payment for being my friend. 4. Now you owe me one. 5. For your hemorrhoid cream. 6. Goonies never die. 7. This is what you get for spying on me. 8. Now we’re even. 9. That was a terrible idea. 10. Just the tip. 11. I’m paying you to leave me alone. 12. We make bad decisions. 13. For shaving my back again last night. 14. Because I never have cash. 15. For the kidney donation. 16. Reward for being my favorite kid. 17. Friendship fee. 18. Be kind. Rewind. 19. Just take all my money. 20. You give a great foot massage. 21. That one time at band camp… 22. You’re gassy. I mean, for your gas. For your car. 23. Your profits from the dog show.

Funny Venmo Captions For Food and Drinks

  1. You keep feeding me so you’re my best friend.
  2. Because I got caught sneaking out on the dinner bill.
  3. I spilled your coffee.
  4. We don’t taco bout it.
  5. Because you’re the mom who always remembers to pack snacks.
  6. You bought me beer and now you’re my BFF.
  7. Alcohol makes you hilarious.
  8. I will just go hungry from now on.
  9. Never again.
  10. For my half of last night’s White Claws.
  11. Thank you for listening to my drunken rant.
  12. Martini Monday… or is it Wine Wednesday?
  13. Buying back my dignity.
  14. I was so drunk I can’t remember what this $ is for.
  15. Shady Shenanigans.
  16. We are loud talkers when we drink.
  17. My kids only eat burnt pizza.
  18. Secret payment. Shhh!

Funny Venmo Captions For Fundraisers

  1. Your Goblin’s Raffle Sale.
  2. Because my dog ate your kid’s favorite lovey.
  3. I better win that 50/50.
  4. You gave me the winning ticket, right?
  5. Spend it before your husband gets home!
  6. Because my wife told me to pay you.

Funny Venmo Captions For Birthday Gifts

  1. You graced the world on this day.
  2. I was too lazy to buy you a real present.
  3. Party all night long!
  4. Annoy the neighbors with your birthday bash.
  5. Go buy yourself something special with this $25.
  6. I have too much money, so take some.
  7. Congratulations! You are $30 richer! HBD.
  8. Don’t spend it all in one place. Next, check out these sassy Instagram captions to use if you are in a feisty mood.

55 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 3755 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 8055 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 8055 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 3955 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 2855 Funny Venmo Captions for Payments - 98