Watch now: “A Little More Rock N Roll” appears on Bryan’s upcoming album, Midlife Priceless, out April 2, 2021 on Stone Point Records. Bryan shares this about the footage you see in the lyric video: “It was the first time we ever played Buffalo. I know we stopped at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio on the way there. Apparently, I was dipping Gold River chewing tobacco at the time, and spitting into an empty milk carton. I remember Dread Zeppelin doing a song that was like, ‘She’s a brick… house-es of the holy,” which I thought was particularly clever, and they did a really cool reggae/Elvis version of ‘Immigrant Song.’ I honestly don’t remember much else." Hootie was looking for a country single for their latest project.“I immediately thought of my ridiculously talented friend, Steven Fiore from the band Young Mister,” he recalls. “I’m a huge fan of the tunes that he writes for his band, but he also has this stealth ability to craft a perfect pop-country song. He sent me the demo for ‘A Little More Rock N Roll.’ “I felt an immediate, nostalgic warmth when I heard it. Capitol sent us some other songs, including a gem Chris Stapleton had written, ‘Hold On,’ and there was no denying it was a solid choice, but I couldn’t get Steven’s song out of my head. In March of 2020, I started tracking for my new solo album Midlife Priceless. I laid a couple of 12-string guitar tracks down for ‘A Little More Rock N Roll,’ and it was already special.” Bryan brought in friends Tim Nielsen (Bass), and Matt Zutell (Drums), and he added lead, electric guitar along with the 12-strings, plus some lap-steel for a little twang. “We put it through a Leslie speaker cabinet, and it just put this sweet icing on everything. It started to sound like a single!” Midlife Priceless, the fourth solo album by Hootie & The Blowfish guitarist Mark Bryan, arrives on April 2, 2021 preceded by the singles “Wanna Feel Something” (Oct. 30), “A Little More Rock n Roll” (Nov. 20), “Let Your Soul Light Shine” (Jan. 8), “Explain That To A Heart” (Feb. 12), and “Gotta Get Outta Town” (March 12). PreOrder Midlife Priceless at https://markbryan.bandcamp.com (enter code MIDLIFEPRICELESS for 15% off) Next, do people who are tone-deaf hear music differently?

Hootie   the Blowfish Guitarist Mark Bryan Gets Nostalgic With  A Little More Rock N Roll  - 53