For many of us, Sunday evenings are a time to gather with loved ones around the dinner table and enjoy a family favorite recipe. It’s an opportunity to spend time together and unwind before the start of the school or work week. Singer and author Kelly Rowland’sfavorite weekends end with gathering around the table for a Slider Sunday feast with her family. To honor this weekly tradition, she has teamed up with King’s Hawaiian to spread the word about their tasty bread she uses for her slider recipe. “In our household, traditions mean a lot,” says Rowland, 41. “During the week, we do Taco Tuesdays, Pizza Fridays and now Slider Sundays. I’m always trying to think of new things I can incorporate at home to create a space for my boys to feel like there’s something to look forward to.” When it comes to whipping up quick and easy meals, her go-to recipes are cheeseburger sliders, macaroni and cheese, and salmon with spinach. Those are all simple, delicious meals her family enjoys.

How Rowland Takes Care of Herself As a Busy Mom

Rowland makes “me time” a priority, whether it’s a manicure and pedicure or giving herself a facial. “Once I get the boys down, I close the door to my bathroom and I use my facial steamer, let the steam fill the air, hop in the tub, play some music, light some candles and chill,” Rowland explains. While “me time” is easier for her to find now, the pandemic was a different type of parenting challenge, as it was for many parents. When Rowland felt stressed, she turned to music as an outlet. “Music was everything for me—tapping into my creativity and writing down different ideas. I didn’t want to be idle during COVID and encouraged myself to be creative,” she says.

The Inspiration Behind Her New Book

Rowland’s new children’s book, Always With You, Always With Me, which she co-authors with Jessica McKay, is inspired by her life as a busy, working mom. “It can be overwhelming to go to the office and have one meeting after the next. And not getting to spend as much time with my family is hard. I know so many working moms who feel the same way. I also wanted kids to know that we feel similar feelings - that it’s a big emotion to be separated from mom and dad.” It’s a dynamic that both parents and children can relate to when they read this book. “We were so intentional with every single word on every single page. It’s a story that illustrates the beautiful bond that’s shared between a mother and son.”

The One Practice That Helps Rowland Live More Mindfully

Rowland loves reading quotes as a way to enter a calm headspace. “In the mornings, I look at quotes and for example, Jay Shetty’s posts really encourage me,” she explains. Even if it’s just five minutes, Rowland makes time for peace and quiet. “Finding moments during the day to be silent and still is something new that I’m trying," she says. “It can be hard for me to switch off because my mind is always racing with a million different things: ‘The kids need to do this’ or ‘there’s another doctor’s appointment.’ As women, we think about every single detail which is what makes us so extraordinary. But it’s important to bring yourself back to the awareness of what you need and what makes you feel joy because we all deserve joy and we deserve it in abundance," Rowland adds. Next up: 57 Actually Delicious Easy, Low-Calorie Meals That Are Nutritionist-Approved

Kelly Rowland Shares Her Mental Health Tips - 98